One More

One More
Take it easy

The 8 Limbs of Yoga

The 8 Arms of Yoga

The Yoga contain a set of observances and practices to guide your spiritual journey. These are known as the Eight Arms of Yoga.

  1. Yama: Correct behavior toward others.
    1. Nonviolence
    2. Truthfulness
    3. Not stealing
    4. Not wasting energy
    5. Abstaining from greed
  2. Niyama: The principles by which you should live your own life
    1. Purity
    2. Contentment
    3. Spiritual observances
    4. Study
    5. Devotion
  3. Asana: The seat of consciousness; the yogi’s seat and postures to prepare the body.
  4. Pranayama: Expanding the life force through breathing exercises.
  5. Pratyahara: Turning the senses inward to explore the inner universe.
  6. Dharana: Effortless focused attention; training the mind to meditate.
  7. Dhyana: A continuous flow, meditation perfected.
  8. Samadhi: Lost or found in the Divine; unity.
The first four yamas prepare the body for the next three, which take you to the doorway of the eighth.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment